Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

CCD Imaging with a Skywatcher Pro 180 Maksutov

Hello everyone

I'm new to astronomy and enjoying every minute of it so far. I have recently purchased a Skywatcher Pro 180 Mak (gold tube) and I would like to do some CCD imaging with it. I have a Meade LPI and a Philips SPC900N.

A few nights ago I pointed the scope at Saturn and dropped in both CCD's into the diagonal attached to the scope. I had each CCD connected to my laptop running MAxim DL and also the Meade Autostar Suite. I was unable to get an image using either CCD or either program. However with my Skywatcher Explorer 200P I did get an image.

Is this to do with the Explorer being f/5 and the 180 Mak being f/12?

Basically I want to know how to image with the 180 Mak (if possible) and what other extras I then require eg. reducers etc. I would rather use the Mak as it gives much better visual images of the planets and it is more compact and lighter for my LXD55 mount.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Richard

The mak has much longer focal length so the object is darker - you need longer exposure than at f5 in Newtonian. Second if you connect the camera and the focus point isn't close - you may not see the planet until you get closer to the focus point :) And third - it has to be in the centre of your FOV with eyepiece (as the webcam is small).

Play with SPC900N and some target that is easy to keep in the field of view like moon (or some far building at day) - check when it is in focus compared to you eyepieces for easier focusing on planets at night.

Meade LPI is a CMOS sensor and is less sensitive than CCD in the webcam. Will require longer exposures.

don`t use the diagonal when imaging and turn the gain settings up on the software to help you get an image and then change the setting to suit,