NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Hi all, now I'm sure one of you clever folks can help.

I have converted a 9x50mm finder scope into a guide scope, an Atik 1HS is used as the guide camera, PHD is the guiding software. Now I'm sure I've read somewhere about using a converted finder scope and that other forum members use this method. PHD requires some info about the guide scope and that is where I am stumped. In particular it asks for the focal length of the guide scope, so do I just measure from the front of the guide scope lens to the camera chip?? (sorry if this is a simplistic question with a simple answer that is going to make me look stupid but I'm new to guiding)

Also can anyone confirm the pin outs from the camera's parallell connector.

PHD is not guiding as well as I would have hoped, in fact I spent the whole of the last clear night messing around trying to get it sorted. I want to confirm I am using the correct settings, I know I have entered the wrong focal length for the guide scope (think I actually entered my imaging scopes focal length doh), does this make a huge difference I wonder.

Anyhow any help is much appreciated.

Cheers in advance to you kind folks

Carl

I don't recall giving PHD any info about the focal length of the guide scope. I did have to change the calibration step value from the default otherwise the motion that PHD used wasn't sufficient to move the stars far enough for it's calibration routine. I used 3000 for my 400mm ST80 clone... you'll probably need a larger number... but I think you'll have to try it and see what you need.

Thanks everyone.

I'm sure I had to enter some details about the guide scope, maybe I'm getting mixed up, will double check.

I tried a calibration step of 4000 John but found the star and surrounding box wandered off the cross hair eventually even though it successfully did the calibration routine.