Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Wanting some advice on astrophotography please!

Hello Everyone,

My name is Michael, I was recommended to this website as I am a photographer looking for some tips. **I initially put this in the photography section, yet was was told that I would get more feedback in this spot.

I am new to astrophotography, and am really looking forward to putting the effort into getting some great images.

I am looking to buy a telescope and the neccessary attachements to use with my nikon d3 dslr, budget is around a grand, would appreciate any of your feedback!!

Update:

Have looked around a few forums and most say I should start with a mount. Most suggestions point to the HEQ5 Syntrek and the Celestron CG-5 GT GOTO, would appreciate anyones views on which is a better performer and investment?

Also what particular scope is best in relation to getting results with a dslr? Is a reflector better than a refractor? Have been recommended two: the Skywatcher Evostar 80ED DS-Pro OTA and the Skywatcher Explorer 200P OTA

Sorry if thats quite an exhausting post, would really appreciate your help!

Many Thanks,

Welcome to SGL ;).

WRT to astrophotography (imaging), your mount is probably the most important part here. What the mount has to do is track your intended object very accurately as it crosses the sky. You can do with either with help (autoguiding) or leave the mount to it's own devices (unguided). Either way, it must be accurate and sturdy. The HEQ5 is a better made and sturdier mount than the CG5 but a general rule of thumb for imaging is halve the rated payload of the mount which in the HEQ5's case is about 7kilos (ish). That might sound plenty but when you have a scope and camera that might seem a little light especially if you want to autoguide then you could be looking at doubling the weight on the mount.