Doughnut shapes & eyepieces - help please

Hello all, as absolute newbies (first ever scope, Skymax 127, bought just over a month ago!) we're floundering a bit with knowing if what we're seeing is as good as it gets or if we're doing something wrong ;) or need another piece of kit etc. Some help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

We've seen some great views of the Moon ;) but can't seem to get much else. We've been out last couple of nights looking at Mars, we managed to see it resolved as a bright disc using a 25mm eyepiece (the one that came with the scope) but as soon as we pop in the Celestron X-Cel 8mm eyepiece (the one that didn't come with the scope but did cost us a fair bit!) then everything goes pear shaped, actually that should be doughnut shaped :):D We seem to lose the night sky completely and instead get a white circle with a black circle in the middle, exactly like a doughnut, that fills the scope. After much twiddling of the focus knob we manage to resolve the doughnut image to a slightly out of focus disc of light that dances around the eyepiece and won't stay still, any further twidling of the focus knob just turns it back into a doughnut:confused:.

As total beginers are we just being plain stupid and the answer is obvious to anyone who knows what they are doing ? Are we being unrealsitc - we know our scope isn't designed for DSO but we did expect to get something more than the Moon (beautiful though it is). Or are we missing an essential piece of kit/got the wrong kit?

Any thoughts or advice would be much appreciated, thanks.

PS. although our scope isn't supposed to do DSO we have bought an Antares focul reducer and we're really pleased with the glimpses we get of DSO using that with our 32mm eyepice ......maybe we just have a planetary scope that really wants to be a DSO scope:icon_eek: Why isn't this hobby simly, straightforward .....and less expensive:icon_scratch: