Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Imaging DSOs, need some advice on equipment

cubes

Hi. I've started on the long road to getting decent astroimages :)

Currently I'm using a Skywatcher Explorer 200p on an EQ5 goto mount and imaging using my Nikon D300. Although I may take the IR filter out of my D40X and use that instead since I don't use it for normal photography anymore.

Not done too badly with planetary objects (imo for a complete novice :rolleyes: ) but I'm looking for advice on imaging DSOs.

As I understand it, it's best (or pretty much required) to use some sort of autoguiding? From what I've read the EQ5 would struggle to have a guidescope on it as well, is that correct? If it can cope, would this be the way to go?

I suspect that a CCD would ultimately be better but more cost in short term but could it be used for long exposure to take DSOs and guide at the same time?

Sorry there are so many questions :eek: and thanks for any answers.

hi

you should look for a better mount if you want to image DSO, a heq5 pro, or even better a eq6 pro would be good.

i think the ccd`s that have both imaging, and guide chips are expensive beasts.

i have gone for a lvi standalone guidecam, so i dont need a pc to image with my dslr.

i use a side-by-side setup.

the ccd imaging have a steep learningcurbe, but it is doable, i have bought a ccd camera to, but not used it yet, as im trying to learn how to use my dsle first.

alfi

What you have may not be ideal, but I'd expect you'd be able to get some fairly good results with it, with practice, patience and persistence. Push what you have as far as you can... I started imaging with a short tube achromat on a SLT AltAz mount, and as long as you accept your equipment has limits, find them and work within them, you'll be ok. Look to get the HEQ5 or probably better the EQ6 once the limits on your current kit are preventing you going further.