Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

M27 Dumbbell Nebula

Darth Takahashi

This is my first attempt at an LRGB image... What a struggle... with the camera, filter wheel, software and producing the final image... its taken ages...

I'm still not sure this is all worth it at the moment, its a steep learning curve and the results that I'm producing now are not good enough. I guess I just have to find the right techniques...

Telescope: TOA130F with ExtQ

Camera: SBIG 2000XM

Filter wheel: CFW7

Capture software: MaxIm DL

All the final adjustment were made in Photoshop CS4.

There's a lot of room for improvement...

Neil

post-15658-133877405788_thumb.jpg

It is a steep learning curve, Neil but worth the climb. The colours look good so you haven't made a hash of the processing. The focus is soft which doesn't help but exposure/colour balance are fine so don't beat yourself up this is the first - onwards and upwards!

Not bad going Neil for a first attempt!

If you want, PM me and I'll do my best to offer some 'beginners' advice as this was my first target also...

are you guiding with the built in guide chip? What mount are you on...?

Best of luck - easier, brighter targets coming up!

Regards

Damian

I'm using an EM200 USD3 which is a little overloaded with everything on it! Approx 20kg. Guiding is done with an external Sky90 II with an Atik 16IC ccd camera.

PHD is my preferred guiding software and has done a good job so far.

I'll send a PM soon as advice is always welcomed and at the moment I need it!

Neil.

Neil

As already mentioned the focus is soft.... I to was having the same problem so got myself a Bahtinov Mask from: Stay Focused Bahtinov masks from £9 (Powered by CubeCart) - although you could make one yourself(!) see: astrojargon - Bahtinov Focusing Mask Generator: Overview