Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Collimation Error?

At the start of my last session I focussed on Vega with a Bahtinov mask. I took a 30s exposure at iso1600 with and without the mask. I noticed in the overexposed image without the mask what I take to be a couple of reflections from internal optics. The setup was C8, F/6 focal reducer, 1.25" SW LPF, Canon 1000d & 1.25" T adapter.

Is this evidence of a collimation error? Other possible causes could be smudges on the optics, mis-aligned focal reducer, the presence of a focal reducer, 1.25" aperture on 2" reducer....

The vignetting is because I used 1.25" optics in the system.

Any comments welcome.

post-16060-133877384334_thumb.jpg

post-16060-133877384341_thumb.jpg

I'm no lensing expert (my field is 10Gb/s pulses in 125 micron glass fibres), but I am intrigued by your second image. The surrounding stars seem pin-sharp, so that would suggest to me that collimation is ok, yet Vega has a peculiar flare round it - maybe an artefact of the camera CCD? Then there is that peculiar secondary out-of-focus image at the 4 o'clock position: I agree it looks like a secondary reflection of some sort. In what order was the LPF, reducer? :)

Could be tube thermals. How long did you leave C8 to cool down for?

Probably not long enough. It was at the start of the session, and the OTA had probably been outside for about 30 min. Should have repeated the photo at the end of the seesion!

I'm no lensing expert (my field is 10Gb/s pulses in 125 micron glass fibres), but I am intrigued by your second image. The surrounding stars seem pin-sharp, so that would suggest to me that collimation is ok, yet Vega has a peculiar flare round it - maybe an artefact of the camera CCD? Then there is that peculiar secondary out-of-focus image at the 4 o'clock position: I agree it looks like a secondary reflection of some sort. In what order was the LPF, reducer? :)