Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Can you help me identify this?

DavidJames

Hi everyone this is my second post, my first was in the introdcution forum room. I'm very new to this but last night I went out with my new Lyra Refractor scope & cheap digital camera.

I took this photo:

starspic.jpg

It was (measured by my compass) SE in direction & quite high in the sky at 2340. Sorry I can't be more exact but I'm still learning! I was just wondering if anyone can help me as it was bright blue & seemed to be reflecting light; is it a planet?

I'm still learning star charts etc, if anyone can help tell me what I might have seen I would be so happy, many thanks,

Dave

Welcome to SGL Dave :). I would hazard a guess that it's either Vega in the constellation of Lyra (more likely)or Altair which is in the constellation of Aquila. Both of which are bright stars.

Tony..

That's dead cool! I'm made up, looks really blue lol. So does that mean it's a very hot star? I tried to find the Whirlpool Galaxy last night to but just couldn't get it. What do you think is a good DSO to see with a small 70mm refractor? I can't wait to look at the moon just it seems to come out a bit to late at the moment. Holey Moley think I'm hooked... lol

Sorry if the pic was to big, sort of just learning this stuff. The image hosting is just the server that hosts my online company. I can change it if anybody wants me to, it's not a problem! Just want to make friends here at the forum, thanks :0)

Dave

Hosting's OK with me (not that it matters), looks like there's another job out there I missed out on!

Vega is the closest star to us I think... for DSO's in a 70mm refractor I'd suggest the globulars first, at least until you get your eye in. Fave's would be M92 and M13 I guess...