Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A year on - M27

RichieJarvis

Its almost the anniversary of the purchase of my first proper CCD camera, so to celebrate, I thought I would re-image my first target and see how I have come on.

So last night (or early this morning actually!) I started shooting Ha, OIII and Hb of M27 through my AP 102ED at F/7. I had to wait until after midnight before M27 had cleared the tree though :)

Of course, nowadays I am shooting narrowband with Astronomik 13nm filters, whereas last year I was using a Baader LRGB set (and I didn't realise that I have to put the IR cut filter in front of the RGB filters either - I only used it for the Luminance frames!)

Am I happy with my improvement? You betcha! I think I am going try and revisit M27 each year and compare how things have moved on in my understanding and ability in Astroimaging.

For comparison, here is the original image from first light with my SXV-H9 using LRGB filters:

2008-08-02-M27-thirdprocessing-small.png

And a year on using narrowband filters:

2009-05-22-M27-Ha12x300-OIII9x300-Hb11x300-process1-small.jpg

Full image details can be found at http://www.deepsky.org.uk/nebula/m27.shtml

I would be interested to hear what others have to say about these 2 images as well :cool:

Thanks for looking!

Cheers,

Richie

You've caught some of the really faint stuff in the outer halo there Richie, and the second is a big improvement over the first, not just the capture, but the processing too.

How do you like the colour you get with the H-beta for blue?

I really like it, and have a couple of shots from last year of this with the same filter combination.

I think it can be good to image the same object on a yearly basis, as it is easy to guage how ones imaging has come on in this way.