Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Vixen centre negative question

I’ve managed to source a Vixen SD-1 controller. It comes with an adapter with a cigarette  lighter style plug. I know Vixen SD-1 handsets are centre negative. If I try and power it from the mains using a 12v cigarette lighter to mains adapter plug (pictured), will the circuit still be centre negative? Electronics are not my thing and I don’t want to find out it is centre positive the hard way! Advice much appreciated. 

IMG_1243.jpeg

IMG_1242.jpeg

• Like 1

I'm no expert but I do know that original Vixen handsets were centre negative.  Maybe things have changed since but they were only protected to 1 amp so great care must be taken.  A friend used to have a handy little pocket money side line in repairing and adding better protection to Vixen handsets.  I have used cigarette cables on centre positive equipment with no problems.       🙂

• Like 1

No and don't use any 12v supply for it, you'll fry it. They run off 9vDC centre negative, if you haven't got the original battery pack, you can get, off Ebay, a 5vDC USB step up lead which converts a USB powerbank into 9vDC centre negative. These leads are intended for use with electric guitar pedals like BOSS pedals which are made in Japan and are 9vDC centre negative. These leads cost less than a fiver and then you can run your SD-1 from a rechargeable USB powerbank, 10,000mAh works best and will power your scope all night long off a single charge. 

USB 5V to 9V 5.5x2.1mm USB to 9V Power Supply Cable for Guitar Effects Pedals | eBay

I hope you read this before you plug the Halfords in! It will tick over on tracking at 12v but as soon as you use the fast forward button the circuit will overheat, do so at your peril!

Edited by Franklin

1 hour ago, Franklin said: