Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

What's actually achievable

Hi all, total newbie here that only bought a telescope last week. Off eBay a Astrolux 76/700.  £20. The blurb on a website says this, This complete telescope package has 76mm optics that will show hundreds of lunar craters in addition to the rings of Saturn and polar ice caps on Mars. Brighter galaxies and nebulae are also well within the reach of this affordable Newtonian telescope.

IS this a truthful statement and are things like this actually visa le with this scope. I struggled and failed to see the Orion nebula last night.

Edited by Cornelius Varley
background colour to text removed

It is actually true.

Start of with Moon to get to know the scope and learn basics of observing (maybe even watch some introductory videos on you tube on how to best observe).

Saturn and Jupiter will be very small but will show detail in good conditions. You'll need to wait for Mars to get into favorable position. Well, this is true for all the planets - you need to wait for their "season".

For galaxies and deep sky objects - dark sky is the key. Get away from the city and street lights. You also need transparent skies.

Observing is a skill and it is learned. The more you observe - better you become.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Thanks for the reassurance. My plan is to upgrade if I stick at it for a while. Just needed to know they weren't just bigging it up. I've watched loads of videos which is why I got hooked. Something I'd never thought about before but a few vids and I was like, wow. The moon looks amazing through it but like you say perhaps my back garden isn't the ideal place to view from. Thanks again.

If expecting to see nice expanses of colour in nebula then no, what one will see is hazy foggy nebula cloud to which one will be able to sketch.   In my bortle 6 skies , I can vaguely make out M42 in orion and Plieades/M45 in Taurus with my eyesight.