Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Advice on Lenses and observing!

Hello fellow stargazers,

I am completely new to this wonderful world and I’m excited to say the least but I am also rather clueless! 

I have a Skywatcher Heritage 150P Virtuoso GTi Table Top Reflector Telescope and was wondering if you wouldn’t mind answering a few questions for me please…

I recently took my new kit out to Bignor Hill (Dark Sky Location) in the South Downs and saw Jupiter and her moons but what I saw was a little small and not overly clear using both the stock supplied 25mm and 10mm eyepieces. I’d love to see them in greater detail and size so was wondering what I should upgrade to lens-wise? 

I’ve done some research and it seems a Barlow lens is the way forward but I am unsure whether to go for a 2x or 3x Barlow lens and whether to go for a 5mm or 6mm accompanying lens also. Or even that my research is correct!

any help in this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for taking the time to read my post!

Welcome to this great hobby, and congratulations on your scope! It’s a very nice one - I had the opportunity to look through one at a star party last year and was very impressed.

When I was starting out, people on this forum recommended the BST Starguider series of eyepieces as an excellent upgrade from those supplied with the telescope, at a price that wouldn’t break the bank. A link to their page on FLO’s website is https://www.firstlightoptics.com/bst-starguider-eyepieces.html. I love these eyepieces even though I now also have some of the more expensive ones.

You could get one of the range of higher power eyepieces to start and see how you get on, such as the 6 or 8mm? Personally I don’t much use barlows but a 2x would double the magnification you would get with each eyepiece.