NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Unable to see clearly

For starters I am a COMPLETE novice to a telescope , That being said , I purchased a Celestron 8 evolution  that came with a lens kit ( 4mm-20mm and a Barlow lens ) I also purchased a Celestron star diagonal, I still need to figure out how to get it aligned but I'll save that for another time, I have been moving it manually and have been able to find the moon in crescent and half stages. My problem is that I can see the moon very clearly by looking through the star diagonal without any lens, but when I put any  lens in the star diagonal I am unable to see anything clearly , moon, stars...etc. I originally thought that the OTA may need some alignment from shipping, but since I can see the moon nice and clear with just a star diagonal I figured that was not really my problem, any thoughts or hints on my problem? 

Any help would be great 

Thanks 

Craig

Helllo Craig and welcome to the site. Couple of questions for you, as Peter said, have you tried cranking the focus knob from end to end to see what happens? Start by using the weakest eyepiece you have which is the one with the highest number, your 20mm. Is your telescope new or a used device?

Make sure you just have the diagonal and the 20mm eyepiece, with no Barlow to start with, then as above it may take many turns either way to bring it into focus, keep going till it stops (don't force it) and if unable to focus, go back the other way. Also bear in mind that when you are getting close to focus, you will need to go slower, you may laugh but some users will use a clothes peg attached to the focus knob for fine focus