Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Eyepieces and filters help wanted

I heard that it would be a good idea to get a 32 mm plossl eyepiece. I went on-line an couldn't believe the price range o these eyepieces. Are all plossls the same? Does anyone have any recommendations? Has anyone heard of Antares Eps? I could get one for a bout $30.00 Canadian. Good deal? Also is it worth to spend money on a set of colour filters for about $50.00 for 4 filters. I am still learning and waiting for clear skies.

Hi Rob,

There is a large price range with eyepieces and generally you get what you pay for. The Antares stuff is good though, despite the comparitively low prices, so you would be safe with their 32mm Plossl although it would not be as well made as a Tele Vue of course.

I would not rush into buying coloured filters until you have a bit more experience in observing - their benefits are quite subtle at best.

John

Hi John, thanks for the advice. How about a moon filter? Would that make sense?

Rob

Possibly Rob although they make more sense with larger aperture scopes - with my 12" dobsonian the moon is too bright for comfort and a filter is needed. I don't feel the need for one though with my 102mm refractor.

John

Hi, dad!

From what I understand, quality is less important with larger aperture EP's, than with smaller. It's apparently easier to make a large (32mm) aperture work well than a 6mm, for example. So save your money, buy a fairly cheap 32, and save up for a higher quality small one for high mag.

I still have to send you that extra barlow I've got!

As far as moon filters go, I've found that if I plan on looking ONLY at the moon, then I don't bother, but if I want to check out other sights, I use the filter as otherwise the glare ruins my dark-vision.

-e