NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Circle T Japan eyepiece help please

Darrensnk

Hello, I'm new to astronomy and came across these eyepieces. Being in need of some I bought them so now just trying to find some information on them. Most things I find are "volcano" eyepieces which people seem to think highly of, just wondering if these would be similar. I haven't tested them yet as I need to buy an adaptor now.  Any info will be greatly appreciated. AH 40mm K 25mm OR 12.5mm all have a sticker with a T in a circle and Japan on it. Thanks

IMG_20231224_185740938_MFNR.jpg

These are 0.965" eyepieces so will need an adaptor for use with 1.25" fittings.

The 40mm is an Achromatic Huyghenian and will have a very narrow field of view - about 30° if memory serves.

The 25mm is a Kellner. A simple three element eyepiece which will be reasonable quality in longer focal length scopes. Probably about 50° fov.

The 12.5mm is an Orthoscopic and will be very good quality with a 40° fov.

Good advice from Mr Spock above 👍.

EdIT: in my hurry to post before being called back to the real world by my wife, I showed the wrong adapter..🤦‍♂️..

The adapter shown below in Louis' post is the correct size, and will enable your 0.965"  eyepieces to work in a 1.25" focuser.

My appreciation to Louis for correcting my error..

Hope that helps,

Dave

Edited by F15Rules
Error in original post.

10 hours ago, F15Rules said:

Wrong way round for that adapter.  That one is for using 1.25" eyepieces in an 0.965" focuser.  This is the adapter needed for these eyepieces.

1 hour ago, Darrensnk said:

Thank you for the information and the link to the adaptor. This might be a silly question but it the add for the adaptor it says requires additional back focus. Does that mean I need to buy something else also to use it.