SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

ASIair app version

groberts

Just about to embark on using the ASIair plus using an Android tablet and wanted to ask:

1. What is the newest version of the app I should be using - seems to be v2.1 on the ZWO website but doesn't say which in the Google Play app library? 
  2. Anythiung else I need to know / problems others have encountered dowloading and setting up the app?

Thanks.

Graham

It says v2.1 10.74 on Google play, there is a newer beta out which has just been released but the former is the current official as of earlier this year.

Note, for me anyway this and v2.0 has caused me many issues across all the different versions of the air, many people don't have issues so luck of the draw I suppose. But I have been using them for around three years so know how well v1.9 of the app and associated air firmwares were before the updates, next to no issues with that one.

Downloading and installing is fine. If it's a new air you need to register the unit, this sometimes causes people issues as they don't have WiFi and cellular connection on at the same time (you need WiFi to connect to the air, and cell to register). Took me one or two tries but a quick internet search and all was good.

• Like 1

I have ver 2.1 (10.74) running on Blue Stacks on my laptop and it seems to be working well with no dramas.  Been a wee while since I installed it, think it was straightforward without any secret handshakes or howling at the moon required :)  Good luck with it, it's an excellent bit of kit.

Jim  

Edited by saac
  • Like 1

21 hours ago, Elp said:

If it's a new air you need to register the unit, this sometimes causes people issues as they don't have WiFi and cellular connection on at the same time (you need WiFi to connect to the air, and cell to register). Took me one or two tries but a quick internet search and all was good.

Sorry but what do you mean by 'cell connection'?