Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newts

Simon Pepper

Hi all 

I have been doing AP for over three years now and I have always used refractors which lets be honest are quite forgiving especially the widefield type plug them in and go!  However recently (and this could be the case of equipment envy) I feel I want to make that jump to something different something that comes with other challenges and perhaps some diffraction spikes! I keep seeing images on Astrobin of users with Newts where the stars just look incredible. I cant get stars that good with my refractors there is sometimes something that's not right whether internal reflections from filters, star bloat or some aberration that I just have no idea where its coming from. I have done a bit of research showing newts come with their own challenges. Collimation, light leaks, focuser sag the requirement for flocking etc. Anyone with experience in this field please give it to me straight how difficult is all of this bearing in mind I have never collimated a scope in my life am I mad to be wanting to do this with just three years experience or is the time right? I have also not ruled out hyperstar or rasa, but for the price of say a SW quattro at F3.45 will be fast enough I believe. Any advice and recommendations on scopes will be very much appreciated.

Thanks Simon 

@Simon Pepper Not to attempt to put you off moving over to the dark side, but you can get nice diffraction spikes with a refractor by string a pair of crossed wires across the objective.