Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Total Newbie Query - is this drift or something else?

Dedanann

hello, I'm wondering if anyone can let me know if I am merely getting these trails and "double" stars in some of my long exposures because of drift or is it something else?

Full disclosure: New to AP, have only just purchased a SW PDS Newt and using Full Frame DSLR on IV set to 90-120sec exposures (f/2.8 on cam, ISO 100-800 [varied] and WB = K), I am not using any guiding equipment yet. The Mount is an EQ5 and it is most definitely polar aligned as best possible without any electronic assistance, merely using a polar finder and illuminator for now, but it's within reasonable alignment and some images come out amazing. The Tracking is a Sky Watcher RA and Dec motor that seems to work very well, or at least, I think it does, but using live view on the camera shows the focus star drifting, usually to the east, and this makes me wonder if the motor control unit could be at fault, or is a worm/gear issue or is it merely drift? I was tracking Arcturus tonight as it is a very easy star to track, but similar to when tracking Vega last night, going over 30seconds in exposure and I got these trails and arcs... so, maybe it is merely drift and I need to invest there, yes, yes, I understand the pros and benefits :)  but I just want to be sure it's not a mount and worm issue. The mount is level, on grass and has been polar aligned as best possible.

Anything anyone can tell me would be great. Again, total beginner. Thanks. _SOC1071.thumb.JPG.30276400445d68a89b3726554673b208.JPG