NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Progressing from a Redcat 51

Just after some advice if that's possible? I have been imaging for around 6 months now (when it's not Cloudy) - here is my current setup:

Williams Optics Redcat 51
ASI2600mc pro
ASI AM5 Mount
ASIair Pro
Williams Optics Guide Scope
ASI 120mm Mini Guide Camera

What I have realised is this is a cracking portable setup which is great at taking wider view images of the larger nebula targets, but not so good for galaxies, planets and lunar. As we move through the months into galaxy and globular cluster season i'm struggling with fewer and fewer targets. Tries M3 last night but without cropping to a silly level the cluster is just too small to see.

I do have a Celestron Starsense Explorer DX 130az - which is not designed for astrophotography,  I just about got my 2600mc to work with it (DSLR won't work because not enough inward travel) - but the single night I did use  on a galaxy all the stars away from the centre of the image were really elongated, and you can add anything else like a field flattener as these is not enough space to add without not being able to get any focus.

I'm looking for recommendations for a OTA that would be a good multipurpose fit for Galaxies, Planets and Lunar - which using as much as I can from the setup above (albeit I know I will need a camera more suited to planetary astrophotography).

Don't want to break the bank (too badly), but as you can see from the kit above I would rather buy quality once than cheap multiple times.

Many Thanks

• 2 weeks later...

You’ve not mentioned the tripod - its the second most import item after the mount head for providing stability.

Your mount has a relatively high load capacity.

There’s no “one size fits all I’m afraid”,

something for planets isn’t so good for galaxies due to required guiding accuracy.

You could try something link 200PD-S, a Newtonian astrograph. c£430