Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

ASI-678MC vs ASI-585MC

Pixies

OK. I can read the specs and understand what they mean. But I have no experience when it comes to making real-world interpretation. So, when they say:

ASI-678MC

• sensor size: 7.7 x 4.3mm
  • Resolution: 3840 x 2160 
  • Pixel size: 2μm
  • ADC: 12bit
  • Peak QE: ~83%
  • Read Noise: 0.6e
  • Full Well: 11270e

ASI-585MC

• sensor size: 11.2 x 6.3mm
  • Resolution: 3840 x 2160 
  • Pixel size: 2.9μm
  • ADC: 12bit
  • Peak QE: 91%
  • Read Noise: 0.8e
  • Full Well: 47000e

So the 678 has higher resolution, better read noise (at  whatever gain), is slightly more efficient; but 585 has bigger pixels and 'fuller' wells (no idea how best to put that). But what does this mean when it comes to the real-world use of them.

I've been following @Chris's topic with interest, and @PeterC65's posts regarding getting started with the IMX585 for EEVA. But here's the question....

When it comes to using these cameras with a small (400mm fl) scope for EEVA-type imaging. Which is the most suitable? I get the feeling that the 585 might lend itself better to long-exposure imaging and the 678 to planetary?

Cheers

• Pixies changed the title to ASI-678MC vs ASI-585MC

If the goal was to do a bit of both, the 585 would probably be the better choice based on the specs (bigger sensor too, for DSO stuff seems like it would be the deal maker and breaker here). The 2 micron pixels in the 678MC are really not ideal for DSO stuff, although its not a disaster as you could just bin on camera when doing EEVA for DSOs.

For planetary either camera will do the trick if they are matched with the right scope/barlow combination.