SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Animating Astro images in After Effects

Hey guys,

I am looking at trying my hand at animating some of my astro images for a bit of fun, I am just looking at creating a simple 15 - 20 second animation of both the stars/galaxy slowly moving in frame, but I have absouletly no idea what I am doing in After Effects.

I have watched a video 

But its more of a quick demonstration as opposed to a step by step tutorial for a clueless beginner like myself.

I was wondering if anyone knew of any step by step guides to achieve this?

The images I am planning on using having removed the stars in PS

1097089457_(Animation)Justgalaxy.thumb.png.69109ae014ee2832d0e40dc5145433ef.png

And the stars

1780779461_(Animation)Juststars.thumb.png.c400a88124e23a3b3a68c5c56a824d5a.png

Cheers guys

lem 1 , this is interesting. I think, and I have no experience of this  save from the video, he applies a scaling effect to the starfield only (makes the starfield expand almost like a vanishing point perspective in art) . This then gives the effect that the stars are moving relative to the static background nebula.  There also appears to be a translation (linear movement) of the background (he moves it left to right I think) .  Do you have photoshop after effects?  I think it's a worthwhile investigation and another direction to experiment with in astro photography/art.  If it is good enough for NASA/Hubble why not us?

Jim 

• Like 1

Just saw the video. Looks like one layer on top of another and both are translating, the top one more than the other. You set a start keyframe, move the time slider to a later point in time, and move the picture as much as you want it to move and set another keyframe. Quite simple. After Effects is capable of so much more.

Edited by Elp
  • Like 1

31 minutes ago, saac said: