Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Anyone imaging with a fast reflector?

I know I can't be the only one, so I am wondering what kind of setup you have as far as getting to focus. I have an 8", 1000mm fl, f/4.9, with a 2" focuser. I wound up fabricating my own lo-profile adapter that screws into the housing of the 2" focuser ( after removing the E.P. adapter) by using half of an OM-1 T-ring I had and half of an EOS adapter. This gives me about 1/4" of focusing, which is fine, but it is a pain to have to screw the whole camera into the housing, (as opposed to using a T-ring and popping it in like an E.P.) plus I cannot put any filters in it. I haven't been able to find one that will adapt the 350D to the 2" focuser and also accept a filter, and actually come to focus. . The one I made from the OM-1 doesn't have threads for filters. So......

Without moving the mirror....icon_cool.gif, how have you worked around this? New focuser? I've been asking around for 2 yrs. now and really haven't found any info except maybe getting a new focuser. If there would be enough difference from my "stock" focuser that I could use a T-ring and just drop in the camera like an E.P. and not have to screw it in, I'd buy it in a minute. Just wanted to hear from someone else who has run across this. Thanx...

i have not had this problem but i would not think that a new focusser would solve all the problems unless it is particulary large? moving the mirror seems like a better idea to me that way you know it will work

Hello Dave,

I have an 8" Orion Optics f4.5 "Europa" reflector. My tube length is 850mm.

I only do "afocal" astrophotography so don't have any problems with achieving focus or using filters etc.

I know nothing about imaging, so can only suggest, possibly considering changing your astrophotography method to a webcam or other imaging system?

Regards,

philsail1

Hi Dave