Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Getting to grips with meridian flips, will my gear do it?

I'm trying to get my head round meridian flips but being an absolute beginner I'm worried about my setup doing it. The way it's set up is with the Asiair and mini router being placed on the underside of the dovetail bar at the front. When I rotate the RA axis eventually the Asiair will come into contact with the mount. Does a meridian flip rotate the RA axis far enough to do this?

20220401_082710_DxO.thumb.jpg.e6e2a65d48a8fd9b4d71c98ff502adf2.jpg20220401_082727_DxO.thumb.jpg.627ffc90944be4734568968423821147.jpg

• Like 1

The meridian flip will rotate the Ra axis around 180 degrees and takes place when the Ra axis is just past the 90 degrees.
But looking at your pictures that looks like the DEC axis that will cause the collision, the DEC axis is the one that rotates around the counterweight bar.
image.png.f713bb8bc49f1038ce36eb5d77caeba0.png

But even so personally I would not be happy leaving any equipment in a position that can hit any part of the mount and would make efforts to mount it on the top side of the dovetail somewhere.
I do not know if it helps but the video below shows your mount performing a flip.

Steve

• Thanks 1

I've just managed to mount both the Asiair and guidescope/camera together on the top, all axes are clear for full rotation. All I have to do is to route cables along the side of the dovetail bar.

@Tomatobro that looks interesting, thanks. How do you clamp the guidescope to the bar to maintain alignment with the scope?

Many thanks to @teoria_del_big_bang for your replies.20220401_102148_DxO.thumb.jpg.6e0721f22f09be688071fc8b6241ad29.jpg

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1