Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

N.I.N.A and Stellarium issues

Jonny_H

Hi all,

I need some help with an issue I have with N.I.N.A and Stellarium in that I cannot seem to get the two to talk, or at least I get an error message when trying.

In N.I.N.A I have selected Stellarium as the Planetarium software and made note of the default port #.

In Stellarium I have ensured that the remote control plug-in loads at startup and I have selected the two server boxes within the remote control configuration screen. The port number here matches that of N.I.N.A.

However when I select a target in Stellarium then go to N.I.N.A and try to import the coordinates from Stellarium, i get an error pop-up stating that the coordinated could not be retrieved.

I just wondered what I have missed? :(

be gentle - I am very new to N.I.N.A.....and Stellarium for that matter :)

Thanks,

Jon

Hi John, you don't need stellarium to do that.. in Nina frame your target how you want, making sure your camera and focal length are correct and then to the left is slew to target.. plate solve and that's it.. as long as your camera angle is the same then it will frame and center within pixels.. no need for stellarium

2 hours ago, Jonny_H said:

Thanks @Same old newbie alert

I assumed that you needed a Planetarium installed. I think CDC is selected by default but out of the two I probably have more knowledge in Stellarium.

If you do not need it though then all is well. I will carry on having a play.

Things to check are the focal length

Camera length and height in pixels

Pixel size

And camera angle

Frame the target and press slew to target

Plate solve and start the imaging run

Once you get used to it you can then let it do it all for you in the advanced sequencer

4 minutes ago, scotty38 said:

I have CdC set up and it works fine but I rarely use it and as mentioned above I prefer to just use the Sky Atlas and Framing in NINA itself.