SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Advice on equipment preparation and setup !

HI SGL !

I am relatively new to astronomy and astrophotography. I am getting somewhat stuck with my equipment. I am based in London so the weather is poor for AP. I have been working somewhat but may have some time later this year if my work hours reduce due to change in work circumstances...

I am getting diverted by planetary, lunar, solar (white and h-alpha), DSO, dSLR and also starting to think about proper astronomy cameras e.g. Atik 314L+.

I have not gotten guiding up and running yet, as I only got the HEQ5Pro a few months ago, and have not had the time or weather to set up guiding (I could not guide on the EQ3 Pro).

I have a number of scopes, 70mm refractor ED70 F6 scope, then a 150mm Skywatcher PDS (not started imaging with this yet,not yet tried collimation and imaging with this, not sure if a coma corrector needed - very expensive!), Skywatcher Evostar 90mm F10 achromat.

What I want to ask is to simplify things:

1) How do you store the equipment ? Do you put tripods, mount heads back into the case or do you leave them in an empty room (I don't have much empty space or rooms) with mount heads on their tripods to maximum height (takes up so much empty space)

2) For large telescopes, how do you store them ? In a shelf or on a table or in their boxes ?

3) For setup, I find it can a long time, because I have all my filters, and things like adaptors in various boxes, sometimes in their original packaging. Do you have to be super organised and get them packed and arranged logically like a library ??

How do those with big scopes cope ? I find it cumbersome and hard to manage heavy big scopes which is why even the 150pds is not going into imaging just yet !! (not learned collimation yet, have to buy all those Cheshire collimators and lasers!!, no coma corrector - too expensive).

Many thanks.

Magnus.

Hi, welcome.