NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Artifact on Samyang 135mm

dieg00

My current setup is a Samyang 135mm f2 and Canon 60D. I have been doing untracked astrophotography for a few months, and two days ago I using a iOptron SkyGuider Pro from a friend. After reviewing the lights, I have found an "inverse" diffraction pattern in the brightest stars. Some info:

- The diffraction pattern appears to have a different direction on different stars, although the angle between the "antispikes" remains constant (see, for example, the pattern on the different stars of the Orion belt).

- I have checked lights from previous imaging sessions, and I cannot find it. However, it should be noted that all previous sessions were untracked, and therefore the exposure time is widely different: 30 seconds vs 1 second.

-  Similar to the previous point, all my previous sessions were done in a much warmer climate, and this is the first time I am imaging at near 0 celsius. Also, because I had some issues polar aligning it, by the time I took the first photo, the lens had already cooled down significantly. (All the images I took yesterday present the same diffraction pattern on said brightest stars).

I would like to know what I can do about this issue, I kindly appreciate any info or test I could do on the lens to try and pinpoint the exact problem and (hopefully) solve it. 

Also, in case I have to tamper with it, I have seen there is a set of 120 degrees spaced screws next to the aperture ring (which, according to online guides, are useful for fixing the lens in case it doesn't focus on infinity); but there are also 90 degrees spaced screws on top of the focusing ring, what do this do? (I won't immediately use them but I would be interested in knowing about them).

Thank you to whoever sheds some light on the issue.

PS. I have attached a single light from the session, please let me know if it would be helpful if I share others, or try taking more and uploading them.