Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Telescope Recommendations For Amateur Astronomers

Hello all,

Sorry if this is yet another "Can you recommend" post but I thought it would best to ask the people who have spent years doing this hobby rather than trawling the review sections of telescopes! My partner and I would both like to get into astronomy/astrophotography and we have been considering getting a telescope for a while. I had an old cheap Skywatcher when I was younger but sold it, so I have some knowledge but not much. Can you help recommend a telescope and mount for us? Here are our parameters...

- We're London based (I know! awful light pollution!)

- We have a maximum budget of ~£400, I know it's not much :(

- We would like to be able to do some astrophotography with it. I have a Panasonic Lumix DMC-G1 DSLR camera which would be nice to use with it, failing that, with our mobile phones!

- Motorized mount? I know it can be more expensive but also better for long exposures and ease of use.

- Perhaps something that can be easily transported around (we drive but currently do not own a car), so we could take it to the parks or on the tube. But this is not essential. 

Any recommendations and tips you could give us would be great.

Thank you all in advance... and Happy Holidays! 🎄

Graham

You have hit upon the usual issue that people come across when wanting to start up with astronomy and astrophotography, the two really are very different animals and need very different equipment.

Usually for viewing dobsonians are recommended for ease of use and getting the best value for money. Something like this is a brilliant all rounder for viewing only Sky-Watcher Classic 200P Dobsonian | First Light Optics