NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

TS Optics Binoculars

bomberbaz

I was just perusing the web, as you do and came across these on teleskop express website.

Teleskop-Express: TS-Optics 82 mm Duplet Binoculars - 1.25" Eyepieces - 45° angled View

Now I am no expert in this matter so excuse any misunderstandings of mine up front.

However they say they have ED glass and should be free of chromatic aberrations up to about x 60, I realise chromatic aberration is still possible but isn't the ED glass designed to deal with this issue?

The other thing is the price tag of similar achromatic astro bins such as explore scientific.

Explore Scientific BT-82 SF Giant Binocular With 62° 20mm LER Eyepieces - Rother Valley Optics Ltd

Am I missing something here.

TIA all

Steve 

Looking at the TS “30x100mm”, you can see the 2k ED models and the 1.3k semi-apo (achromat) options. For astro the 90degree make zenith viewing a little nicer. There seem to be other selling these like Altair and Astroshop.eu. APM sell semi-apo, “ED” and “SD”, which is even better, TS seem to selling the first two. Tripod mounting, angled viewing, changeable eyepieces, all useful options to have for larger bins.

Peter

• Like 1

1 hour ago, bomberbaz said:

I realise chromatic aberration is still possible but isn't the ED glass designed to deal with this issue?

Those have 80mm F/6 lens in them - probably FCD-1 / FPL-51 type.

At that aperture and that speed - it's probably still going to have residual CA. Not as much as equivalent achromat - but it won't be color free.

While we are on subject, I'm really interested in these:

https://www.teleskop-express.de/shop/product_info.php/info/p1421_TS-Optics-20x80-ED-APO-Binoculars-with-two-Triplet-Objectives-and-Tripod-Adapter.html

but not as binoculars :D

I see them as source of two 80mm probably F/5 triplet lens. Who wants to have ST80 with triplet lens and hence much better color correction? :D

• Like 1

1 hour ago, vlaiv said: