Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Skywatcher Skymax 127mm MAK - Help/Advice/Recommendations

Hello All,

I am a newbie, still learning through various groups and forums..

Thank you all for your recommendations, specially @Tiny Clanger, I needed that extra push 😊

My 127 MAK has been delivered, and the overcast skies aren’t helping!

I tried setting it up and looking through some terrestrial targets, all seems fine but the focus isn’t “pin sharp”, specially on the 10mm EP (supplied) and not too great either the 25mm EP.

What do I need to do to improve it?
It’s brand new so I can always swap it if required..

Any recommendations will be more than welcome!

cheers!

Sam

PS - there are threads on the inside and outside of the visual back (where the diagonal goes in), Do I need to put something there, before shoving the diagonal? doesn’t seems right as the diagonal edge may damage the inside threads (makes a sound when diagonal goes in) 

Not an expert on that particular scope, so others will no doubt give you better advice. Some things to realise though:

Depending on what you're looking at, daytime isn't optimum for making a judgement. Haze, thermals, wind etc can all spoil the view, so better to wait until using it on the night sky. The Skywatcher 10mm lens is mostly not considered good quality, I've seen a few comments from folk saying it's OK but not many. The 25mm isn't too shabby but neither of them is intended to be much more than to "get you going". You'll probably want to upgrade both BUT use it for a while first to decide what your next ones should be.

The threads on the back are for attaching camera mounts and other accessories. If you can achieve focus you probably aren't doing anything wrong.*

* wait for someone more knowledgeable to confirm this, I've a feeling Maks have a "visual back" that goes on first?

(EDIT2: I missed the bit where you said you're using it)

Edited by wulfrun
* bit added
  • Like 2
  • Thanks 1