Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Lunt LS60 Tilt tuner movement

ajohnson

Sorry if this has been asked before but I didn't find any thing close on a search.

I've just taken ownership of my first Ha scope, a Lunt LS60Tha with a tilt tuner with B1200 blocking filter. I'm probably the 3rd owner and so far I'm reasonably impressed.

I'm still learning it's little quirks and don't seem to have the hang of visual observing with it yet but with an ASI 178MM camera attached I'm seeing some nice details. But I have a question about the tilt tuner, in terms of travel it seems that will make about 2 full turns with zero resistance and TBH no real change to the view that I can see so far. Looking down the tube the elaton does not seem to move visibly. The final 1/2 turn of the tuning wheel gets some resistance, equivalent to maybe the fine focus knob on most scopes and I can see the elaton move visibly looking down the tube. I'm not entirely convinced this is right so to either set my mind at rest or confirm a possible issue what should 'normal' feel and look like when turning the tuning knob.

Images seem fine, although the Sun looks like something else is illuminating it, (as attached) I'm currently assuming this is due to the dodgy focuser as it definitely deflects downward with the camera attached, some tweaking or fine adjustment needed there or maybe a Moonlight replacement.

Sun_165222_l6_merge_rgb.jpg

• Like 1

Only have pressure tuned version not sure what a tilt tuner should do.

Have you checked the blue filter in the front of the B1200 these can degrade over time and go misty compromising the view a bit, replacements are available from Bresser Europe.

Dave

The front element is nice and clear, not misty, overall the scope seems to have been well looked after (not dropped or abused) I'm trying to work if it's operator error (most likely cause) or if it will benefit from a service.

3 hours ago, ajohnson said: