Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Lunt LS50

Tigger27

Hello,

I have been observing the night sky for over 10 yrs with a 14" Meade SCT and a couple of smaller grab and go Maks (6" & 4"). Last year I bought a Lunt LS50 to try 'The Bright Side'. I have been Solar observing for about 6 months. I have just ordered a Double Stack unit and will report on this in a few weeks time . For now the report is on the single stack LS50 with standard focuser and BS600 and VISUAL ONLY, no AP

The Good Stuff

Wow, the views are stunning. The image is really crisp and clean. The Sun changes every day and the Proms can change over a few hours, so there is always some new to see everyday. 

How to use it

I have mine set up on a lightweight grab n go Alt Az tripod. Finding the sun is a doddle with the sol finder from televue. I start with an 8mm eyepiece and get the edge of the sun in focus. I then tune the pressure tuner until I can see the proms shinning nice and bright. I will then move the sun through the sweet spot. This usually brings out the fainter proms that are not visible when off the sweet spot. Next I have a quick look at the sun's surface, but the LS50 does not show much surface features ( Im sure the DS will help with this).

If there are any interesting proms, I swop to a 5mm EP and adjust the focus.

Focusing issues

The stock focuser is OK to use but lacks backfocus for my televue Radians. I have read various reports and most pull the diagonal 10-15mm out of the focuser. I tried this but felt nervous about the diagonal falling out of the scope. So instead, I have the diagonal fully in the focuser and adjust focus by moving the eyepiece out 15mm. Fine focus is achieved by using the focuser. this method works for me because the TVs pop into focus. I could change the focuser, but its £250-£450. I  cannot justify that expense so I live with the stock focuser.

Pressure Tuner