Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Sky-Watcher Classic 200P Dobsonian - what would you do if could choose your own "stock" eyepieces with all the experience you have now.

Hi all,

I always loved astronomy (I am in fact a geophysicist), and I bought my first telescope recently, a nice second-hand 200P Dobsonian from a member of this community. 

I am new to telescopes and related equipment.

So imagine you get an 8" f/6 dob but you get to choose your own eyepieces instead of getting the "stock" ones (so basically my case).

What would you do in that case? 

1- I assume the 25mm and 8mm BST StarGuider would be the most sensible approach hence the first option and then add a Barlow down the road.

2- In another post called "First eyepiece upgrade - what you wish you had done", people seem to recommend the Baader Hyperion Zoom.

So I guess the question is, what would do and why? Get a set of BST StarGuider EPs? or the Baader Hyperion Zoom? or would you do something else?

Thanks in advance for the advice.

Amaury

I sort of did 1 & 2.

My 200p came with the 25 & 10mm. I then got a Starguider 7-21 zoom which was "fair" for a total beginner, and cheap. From that I got 3 Starguiders, the 25, 15 & 5mm followed by a Baader Hyperion 8-24 zoom and matching Barlow. 

The Starguider 15mm is my favourite of BST stable so far - nice and clear on the Moon at 80x. The 5mm gives 240x and some good views of Mars back in November. The 25 is "ok", marginally better than the stock EP.

The Hyperion zoom is just superb and Barlows very well as you might expect from a "matching" 2.25x Barlow. I've had that combo up to 337x on some Orion doubles. Definitely worth the money IMO.

Andy

• Like 1

Thanks for the input Andy.

The Hyperion zoom sounds great. Is there a downside compared to a fixed EP? For example, how does the 8mm in the Zoom compares to BST SG 8mm.

Amaury