Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Learning DSS astrophotography but can not get any nebula developed... Any help would be appreciated.

Hi all

I am very new to astrophotography and the best i have done before is a nice shot of orion nebula but thats quite easy for a newcomer i think.

Trying to move onto other nebula and have tried numerious times to get the heart and soul nebula but each time i try to develop through Sequator then PS or Pixinsight i am not bringing any red out whatsoever and i am stumped as to why ?

I am using a Nikon D750 unmodded and tried various lenses even going down to 50mm prime lens that i 100% know i am getting the nebula im my images as double checking through Stellarium and all the stars match up but like i say i get no nebula im my images.

My settings are 20 seocnd exposures on a star adventurer pro tracker. If i go any longer than 20 seconds i find my images look washed out like the exposure is too high. I am shooting on F3.2 with around 400 ISO.

Im n a 5 Bortle in cheshire area of the UK.

Do i need light polution filters, longer exposures and higher F stop with lower ISO ?  Or is it simply i need to get under darker skys ? I really dont want to spend out £200 on clip in filters if i can help it if i can get away with changing a few settings or if someone has some wise advise for a beginner please ?

For most nebulae you need exposure times in the minutes not seconds. When you say the images are washed out if you expose for longer than 20” what are you viewing them in? Are they auto-stretched etc?

What are your other camera settings? RAW or jpeg, are you definitely in full manual mode etc?

1 minute ago, dannybgoode said:

For most nebulae you need exposure times in the minutes not seconds. When you say the images are washed out if you expose for longer than 20” what are you viewing them in? Are they auto-stretched etc?

What are your other camera settings? RAW or jpeg, are you definitely in full manual mode etc?