Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

QHY8 Pro with canon lens

orionoffelt

I have been imaging for a few years now mainly with telelscopes But I bought a canon 200mm F 2.8 lens a while back and have managed to try it last night for a spell just before the clouds rolled in I coupled it up to my old OSC  a QHY8 Pro and find looking at this image of 2 x 60 frames that the brighter stars have flares has anyone come across this before and I wonder what is causing it and is there a solution ?

Bob

CV_Lens 2 x 1 min subs.JPG

Looks like coma /spherical aberration inherent to the lens. No surprise really, most long camera lenses will show some aberration but this does look quite extreme.

Is this a cropped image off center ? I ask because the comas point to a "center" somewhat left and upper in the frame.

Not sure there is a solution unless if the lens is new it can be proved to be defective and can be returned under warranty. Unlikely. Maybe other users of this lens can chime in on it's quality.

One could try stopping the lens down to say f 8 to see if the aberration reduces.

There aren't many camera lenses truly suitable for astrophotography. I think the SamYang 135 mm (not sure of model #) is said to be pretty good. 

I certainly see similar effects and chromatic aberration with my Canon EF 75-300 mm zoom which is definitely known to be poor but not as bad as yours.

• Like 1

Thanks for the reply I thought it looked like coma spherical abbreviation myself this was the full frame I did manage one more frame a 300 second one but half of it was through cloud and the bright stars looked the same. 

I have a Canon DSLR I may try the lens on it and see what the stars look like as the ccd may have a different result but they are still OSC cameras. With the lens attached to the DSLR during the day the view looks perfect which I would have expected as day time imaging is more forgiving.

Hi there,   I too have a QHY8pro.