NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Skymax 102+AZ Gti + modified canon 1200d - what mounts, spacer, focal reducer ?

Hi chaps,

beginner here.

er I AM trying to learn all the techie stuff as quick as I can, but it is a deep learning curve.

I've been having a lot of fun with my 102 (1300mm) looking at the moon and especially M42. I designed and printed a 3d printed mount solution for EPs and my phone that let me shoot pretty good pics with my EPs and it's got me a taste of AP.

So - I know it's far from ideal OTA for DSO but.. it's what I've got for now. I've ordered a modified canon 1200D.

And I'm now a little bit confused as to what I need to mount it, and whether I need a focal reducer.

the outside thread on the OTA is a 42mm thead I think. So I need a canon t-mount I assume.

Does it need a spacer ? Are spacers all the same size ?

And, how do I calculate the fov I will get with that ?

If I need a focal reducer, I assume this screws into the interior OTA thread, and since this is quite deep, I assume it's trial and error getting this to the right point ? (55mm is mentioned some places)

And then just a matter of getting a 1.25 0.5 or 0.5 reducer and screwing it in ?

I realise I'm going to be doing 30 second odd exposures here to get anything decent, and it would be better with an EQ mount, and a different OTA, etc, etc - but that can all be added to later - just wanna expand out and enjoy for now.

all advice appreciated - I'm enjoying this new hobby far more than I thought I would to be honest - first time I captured M42 I couldn't believe what I was seeing !!!

stu

You only need Canon T ring.

It screws directly into visual back end of the scope - it has T2 thread on it.