NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Possibly Silly questions for DSLR users

Hi all,

I wonder if someone can clear my confusion and doubts.

I'm very new to AP & I’m currently using a crop sensor DSLR an old EOS30D & a newer 1300D for my Astro shots, both are APS-C crop sensor.

1) If i were to buy a new DSLR for mostly AP should I look for Full Frame, APS-C, micro 4/3 format ?

2) am I worrying unnecessarily about the number of LONG exposures the sensors are ‘exposed’ to having a detrimental effect on the sensors themselves ? Is there such thing as ‘sensor burn’ like there is with OLED & LCD TVs had screen burn from exposure to static images ?

many thanks 

Full frame means you need a scope or lenses that can cover the sensor

APS-C is most likely the best way to go.

Long exposures as such will not hurt the sensors but be careful when it's really hot outside.
Obviously you don't want the sensor temperature going to high.

My Canon 60Da has done hundreds of exposures of 10minutes with no problems.

• Like 1

7 minutes ago, wxsatuser said:

Full frame means you need a scope or lenses that can cover the sensor

APS-C is most likely the best way to go.

Long exposures as such will not hurt the sensors but be careful when it's really hot outside.
Obviously you don't want the sensor temperature going to high.

My Canon 60Da has done hundreds of exposures of 10minutes with no problems.

My current scope for imaging is a WO Zenithstar 61, would that change the advice ? thanks for the reassurance on the sensor front.

49 minutes ago, Newforestgimp said:

My current scope for imaging is a WO Zenithstar 61, would that change the advice ? thanks for the reassurance on the sensor front.

Not sure, does it cover full frame?

It appears with a flatner it does 43mm which is close if that is correct.

• Like 1