Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

SGT or Refractor setup ?

Hi folks , I am a complete newbie to star gazing and a want to take up the challenge of  astro photography. I`m pretty good at normal photography and know my way round a camera. My total budget to get me going is 2.5k (holiday money, for the holiday i did`nt have last year)

So looking for advice on what is a good telescope to start in astro photography. Now with all i`ve read so far in need a good mount and this is where the money should be spent, budget is 1k. if i can get a good mount for less then whats left over can be spent on a telescope. My Budget is 1k for the telescope. 

My understanding is that i will require a guidescope to make sure the telescope stays on target. PHD2 is the software that seems to be what peeps are using.

Thanks in advance

Hi,

I think the very best advice given on this forum to folks in your position is to get the great book "Making Every Photo Count" by Steve Richards:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/books/making-every-photon-count-steve-richards.html

Apologies if you have already read this but it really is a great starting point for would be imagers :smiley:

9 hours ago, Newbiestargazer said:

Hi folks , I am a complete newbie to star gazing and a want to take up the challenge of  astro photography. I`m pretty good at normal photography and know my way round a camera. My total budget to get me going is 2.5k (holiday money, for the holiday i did`nt have last year)

So looking for advice on what is a good telescope to start in astro photography. Now with all i`ve read so far in need a good mount and this is where the money should be spent, budget is 1k. if i can get a good mount for less then whats left over can be spent on a telescope. My Budget is 1k for the telescope. 

My understanding is that i will require a guidescope to make sure the telescope stays on target. PHD2 is the software that seems to be what peeps are using.

Thanks in advance