NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Noise reduction techniques

I'm completely new to imaging, so I have many hurdles to overcome.

What I'm currently pondering over is noise.

What can I do to reduce this kind of noise?

Screenshot_20201226-072819_Gallery.thumb.jpg.1c465de4519375f39380280d5ad217ea.jpg

I'm using a DSLR, so I understand that I am somewhat limited. But I hope theres some tricks I can use to get around it.

The image above is from a stack with 3h45m integration time. Do I need more subs? More darks or bias? Are therw stacking parameters that might affect this? Other techniques?

My equipment is listed in the signature and I use DSS and photoshop for post processing. I have thw Astronomy tools plugin for PS as well. 

Cooling a DSLR can help with noise, although how to achieve this is not always simple. 

But without a stable temperature on both lights and darks, calibrating with mis-matched dark frames can actually make matters worse.  Especially so when the temperatures don't match. 

Processing software too, can help with noise.  I've used a couple of modules from StarTools on your screenshot to quickly get this result:

Screenshot1.thumb.jpg.5d2a80798356ec72b8b5a11228e50f50.jpg

One comment about the original image. The stars seem to be larger than the noise pixels. They also appear redder at the top and bluer at the bottom.
Is this a focus issue - it doesn't look like it would need much of an adjustment, or maybe an optical one? Depending on where that cropped example was in the overalll image - centre, corner, etc. it could be that getting the star size smaller would make them brighter, so the signal (the stars) to noise (the background) ratio would automatically improve.

6 hours ago, bottletopburly said:

dithering with a dslr is beneficial to eliminate walking noise

I dither 5px between every frame!

6 hours ago, almcl said: