NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Have a chance to buy an EQM-35...

And I'm teetering on the brink of saying yes, but I'm not quite sure of my decision. So, for the umpteenth time, I have chosen to come and harass you lovely people on SGL. 

This EQM-35 looks flawless in photos, no visible dings or scratches, and seller states its in full working order with no defects at all. I have seen a video of it slewing which seems fine. The asking price is £400, and it includes a Lynx cable to connect the SynScan handset to a laptop. 

However, I don't actually have a clue what I am looking at. I've never used an EQ mount before, yet alone a GoTo, and I'm panicky because of that. I'm so scared of spending money I can't really afford to lose. 

Given a choice I'd go for an Az-EQ5 or a HEQ5 pro, but a combination of lack of availability and lack of funds means I am unable to get what I really want at the moment. I'm being told different things by different retailers as to when stock will return and estimated dates keep changing. I'm also drawn in by the way you can apparently use the EQM-35 as a glorified Star Adventurer.

Just for extra info: I currently have my one decent scope, a 102 OTA (with 60mm finder) on an AZ4 with an aluminium tripod, which was a real bargain and suits me so well for grab and go observing, but by heck is it shaky. My current setup weighs around 5.5kg, including main tube, finder, diagonal and zoom eyepiece so well within the 10kg visual limit for the EQM-35, and I daresay if I was to trade out eyepieces and diagonals for a camera I'd still be just about within the limits for my first forays into the world of imaging. 

So...to cut my rambling short...what do you guys reckon? Decent deal? Something to steer clear of? 

If you could do a visual inspection of the mount and ask the seller to show you that it can slew/track smoothly and there is no strange noise from the motor, that price wouldn't be bad.