Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Mounting Quandry

Coriorda

I’m very new to AP having only dabbled in stacking numerous very short exposure images (1s) as I do not have any form of tracking mount. So the question is about what step should I take next... do I learn the craft first with a portable easy to use star tracker type ( Skyguider / star adventurer) or since I keep hearing that the mount is the single most important aspect, do I instead jump straight in with a full eq mount like the HEQ5 ? Is there value in small steps .... thank you 

I think that this depends on your budget and personal situation. How much can you spend? where do you live (small apartment in a city or large property away from neighbours)? Do you have to travel to a dark site? How much time can you spend on this hobby? Once these questions are answered, you’ll be in a better position to choose the best gear.

Edited by wimvb
  • Like 1

I guess it depends on what you are wanting to photograph and your budget? For widefield milkyway pics then  a star tracker is the way to go. I started with a star adventurer and it is possible to photograph deep sky objects but to be honest it comes with a lot of faff and frustration. I moved on to a SW HEQ5 Pro and it's way easier to use after you initially get your head round setting it up. It's much more stable and a goto mount saves you loads of time. I found finding and framing objects with the star adventurer a pain plus I was constantly worried about knocking it and ruining my polar alignment. 

• Like 1

I think the answer to that depends upon what you want to achieve in the longer run.

If you will only ever want to use a DSLR with a wide to medium lens that a Star Adventurer might be just the job.

If you want to do some more serious deep space or planetary imaging them the HEQ5 seems to be the sweet spot between price, performance and portability.