Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Twistlock adaptor or diagonal replacement?

I'm a newbie just getting to grips with my new equipment.

I want to hold my 2" eyepieces in my 2" diagonal with a twistlock or similar mechanism - rather than the 2 screw method that came as standard because that seems less secure, harder to centre and might mark my eyepieces.

Is there an adaptor that will do this?  I've seen 2" to 1.25" but not 2" to 2". And if they do exist, will it add too much to the light path making focusing harder in some cases?

Or is my only/best option to replace my diagonal with one that has a twistlock built in?

And on that note, I don't know if my diagonal (that came with the scope) is any good anyway and maybe "should" be replaced?  It's a Celestron 2” mirror diagonal #93519 that doesn't appear to be a current model so I can't find out anything about it.  My scope is a Celestron 8" Edge HD.

Advice gratefully received.

Edited by globular

If the diagonal uses a compression ring, it won't mark your eyepieces.

Baader is the only brand with interchangeable barrels on their diagonals to my knowledge.

Personally, I really like the GSO/Revelation dielectric diagonals.  They do have compression rings on both the 2" holder and the 1.25" low profile adapter.

• Thanks 1

My diagonal doesn't have a compression ring - just 2 screws that poke through the barrel and directly grip the EP nose.
I'm pretty careful and haven't marked my EPs yet; nor had any fall out; but I know the time will come when I'm all excited to change by EP to take advantage of some perfect seeing and I'll have an accident.

I've found a 2" Bresser 35mm Extension Tube that terminates in a compression ring or a 2" Altair 50mm Extension Tube that has a Positive Lock.
But it doesn't feel right to add 35mm or 50mm to the light path when I don't 'need' to. 
Am I worrying over nothing?