Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Newbie look for telescope

Hi

Been searching telescope for a week. Need expertise advise for a newbie here.

Objective: To able to view moon, crater moon and planets as primary deal. Secondary deal will be using for occasional shorebirds watching. Other add on include solar view with solar filter and take photo via handphone.

Actually, i have shortlisted Astromaster 114EQ but after searching and looking at review, this is not 100% recommended. Seeking advise on any model which has the objective mentioned above and budget @ US$600 below.  

Other model i have look at it due to travel light option - Orion StarBlast 62mm Compact Travel Refractor Telescope 

Hope someone can advise me on which is a better model to choose.

Thank you

A small mak would suit your needs. Great on lunar / planetary but also great for nature watching with an erecting prism.. Small and light weight as well and would work on a  photo tripod.

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/maksutov/skywatcher-skymax-102-ota.html

The small refractor you have linked to is better for widefield observing and too small in aperture for good lunar / planetary viewing.. OK for nature watching though.

Edited by johninderby

Here's one example, includes the erect image diagonal that John mentioned:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/maksutov/sky-watcher-skymax-102-az-pronto.html

Or a good photo tripod.

There are other options if you wanted a go-to mount, that also allows you to be able to use it manually too. (I've been looking at a similar config recently)

Edited by Pixies
  • Thanks 1

Hi @SGLi and welcome to SGL. :hello2:

Another +1 for a Maksutov. Below is my 're-modded' Meade ETX105.

IMG_0660.thumb.JPG.c0cda8510acd51b8dccf7f8596e13ace.JPG

I know... I forgot to extend the tripod legs and remove the end caps.