Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Bresser 127L / SkyTee II Setup Questions

Hi all!

After my initial posts when looking into what setup to get i think ive made my mind up on the Bresser 127L mounted on the SkyTee II mount which would be on a 1.75 Stainless Steel tripod.

I've seen a few setups on here using this combo but had some general questions about these items in particular and was wondering if anyone could help.

1) How likely would the 127L need collimating? (as i understand this model comes with the ability to do so) One of my main decisions in getting a refractor was that i didnt have to worry about this process, its nice that it has the ability to do so but i cant help but feel like I would now have to do it because the option is there to do so. In all honesty, collimating scares me as im a newbie to this hobby and was one of the reasons i was staying away from reflectors (along with my main interests being lunar/planetary based and star hopping)

2) Would i need to counter balance the SkyTee II mount? As i understand it, its best to mount heavier scopes on the side saddle and NOT the "top" saddle? Are there any counterweight brands that would fit the SkyTee II? SkyWatcher etc? which brings me in to another question..

3) Would it be best to also buy the upgraded ADM Vixen style Saddle "SkyTee-II & AYO" variant clamp? https://www.firstlightoptics.com/adm-replacement-saddles/adm-vixen-style-saddle.html and as i only plan on using the one scope i assume i only need one?

Thanks as always for any help and input, you guys have been fantastic when i last came here looking for initial setup advice (with posts ive found about the above equipment helping me to decide on getting it myself)

• Like 1

Counterweights. While you can get away without using the weights it does makes the mount smoother to use with the weights.

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/sky-watcher-mount-accessories/skywatcher-counterweight.html