NLCbanner2024.jpg.2478be509670e60c2d6efd04834b8b47.jpg

Rosette Nebula and my camera

robster

Hi,

I'm new to Astrophotography, but been bitten by the bug (see attached last night's attemt at M42 and friends, that I'm quite happy with for my second ever DSO picture!).

My work involves me having a Sony A9 Mk II and in the kit are a whole load of lenses, indluding a F5.6 200-600mm zoom. This is an exeptional camera, and I'm very lucky to have use of it. It's this setup that I did the M42 shot of.

As the weather will be clear again tonight, I want to attempt the Rosette Nebula. The problem is that my camera's maximum shutter speed is 30s - and most people are advising somewhere between 30 and 100 shots at between 120s and 240s (ISO1600).

I see my choces as being:

1) Shoot more lights at a maximum exposure of 30s each

2) Increase the ISO to 6400 (noise is pretty good on this camera, even with all noise reduction switched off)

3) A combination of 1 and 2 above.

There are a few aftermarket interval timers, that may allow longer shutter times, but I can't get one in time for this evening!!

Thoughts?

Thanks

Rob

M42.jpg

Edited by robster
more typos!
  • Like 7

Thanks Pankaj!

It was 100 X 10s exposures at ISO1600, 50 darks, 50 bias and 50 flats. Stacked in DSS and processed in PS. The optics of that lens though and the quality of that camera are truely astounding.

Hi, Rob,

Out of curiosity I had a browse about that camera - quite a piece of kit.  And it seemed to me strange that for such an advanced camera the maximum exposure time was 1/30 second. So more digging reveals that it can have a 'bulb' setting.  There may be an entry in the menu system, possibly controllable via USB or perhaps an external unit. Probably worth you doing a bit of digging yourself.  Nice pic by the way.

Cheers,

Peter

58 minutes ago, robster said:

Thanks for the lovely replies....but any suggestions what I do about the limitation to 30s?