Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Imaging With ZWO ASI178MC

brenski

Hi

recently bought one of these cameras. i'm completely new to imaging, but really keen to make progress.

at the moment I've got the ZWO ASI178MC connected to a Netbook PC and a Bresser 75/350 (i intend to use my SkyWatcher 200p) and have used the default ASI software to get the image below  - i would like to think i can do much better than this.

■ better software to use for capturing images and video - for lunar, solar, planetary and dso

■ best settings for images and clips

■ what video filetype VLC will recognise and playback (ASI's .avi is incompatible with VLC - it will work in Windows Med Player)

■ how to "know" you've got DSOs worth processing, when these can't actually be seen onscreen

moon.png

just a quick update, the .avi file properties:

length: 00:00:36

frame width: 3096 

frame height:  2080

data rate:  772787 kbps

total bitrate: 772787 kbps

frame rate:  5.00 frames/second

file size: 3,516,180,992  (3.27gb)

would there be a valid reason for VLC refusing to play this?

Hi Brenski,

+1 for sharpcap. I would also recommend for lunar and planetary imaging you crank up the frame rate.  5 fps is a bit slow. I've just checked the spec of your camera on FLO website, and at 3096 X 2080, your max frame rate can achieve up to 30 fps, is suggest you use this setting. And on Lunar, try taking a 1 minute capture, stacking in Autostakkert, and keeping the best 50% of frames. I've not used Autostakkert in a while, but there are plenty of online guides.

John

• Like 1

You can experiment on getting the best framerate indoors with just the camera on its own sitting next to the PC. You don't need an actual image to be seen. I use Firecapture for video imaging though Sharpcap as mentioned is just as good.