Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Choosing my first dedicated astrocamera (upgrade from DSLR)

StarMich

I have a question about experiences with entry-level CCD / ColdMOS cameras and the selection process for upgrading to one.

I have been doing astrophotography for 9 years now, always worked with DSLR (uncooled, color, full spectrum mod). My main telescopes have a focal length of 812 mm (f/3.9) and 1000 mm (f/5).
Since about 5 years I started following the CCD world with the idea to eventually switch to a monochrome cooled camera for luminance, with the aim of more light sensitivity and higher resolution.
At that time my goal was to save for a camera with the well-known KAF8300 sensor, but in the meantime the CMOS sensors have started to compete more and more with the entry-level CCD cameras. Everywhere these days I see images popping up made with the well-known ASI1600M or QHY163M, the results usually speak for themselves and I had the idea to go for the ASI1600M Pro. I started some research into the specs of the sensor in these cameras (MN34230) and compaired these to the KAF8300, my current DSLR: a full spectrum Canon 1100D and other cameras in the price range ~ €2000 or lower. (< £1700)

After some calculations I started to have doubts about the choice for an ASI1600M, this was my reasoning:

Light output per pixel and consequently also the exposure time required to capture the signal from deepsky objects can be expressed (fast proxy) as the product of pixel surface and quantum efficiency. This is of course independent of thermal noise and read-out noise, but it seems to me that differences in this are not significant between different manufacturers that incorporate the same sensor into their cameras.

If there is anything wrong in my reasoning, feel free to correct me. :) 

Below the numbers I obtained:

• Canon 1100D: 9.1
  • Canon 450D: 9.5 (is often "monofied" nowadays)
  • ASI183M: 4.7
  • ASI1600M / QHY163M: 8.5
  • ASI174M / QHY174M: 26.1