Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Meade 80/400 adventure scope the best budget eyepices

Lilu

Hello

I just bought Meade 80/400 adventure scope and I am new to the subject of telescopes and eyepices for it. But as far as I know the eyepices that this scope is equipped with  are absolutely terrible... So please if you can suggest the best budget eyepices for this scope I will be thankful. Its for general planet observation and maybe  some nebulas and clusters.

Edited by Lilu
Mistake

Since you're probably on a tight budget, I'd recommend some decent plossls.  32mm, 20mm, and 12mm to start with.  Even the inexpensive ones are reportedly fairly decent.  I'd also probably get a decent 2x shorty barlow as well.

My 80mm short tube came with 20mm RK, 12.5mm K, and 9mm K eyepieces, where K means Kellner and RK means Reverse Kellner.  The Kellners were surprisingly good, the RK was less good, but not bad, so give the included eyepieces a chance before tossing them.

Be aware that due to extreme false color thanks to the scope's fast achromat, you'll never get super sharp images, especially at higher powers.  A minus-violet or light yellow filter can help tame some of this false color at the expense of giving everything a yellow cast.

• Thanks 1

I agree with Louis suggestions. The plossls branded "Revelation" here in the UK are pretty good as well as being low cost.

The Meade Adventurescope 80 is the same scope as the Skywatcher ST80 so any references to that you find on the web will also apply to the Meade version.

Welcome to the forum by the way :smiley:

• Thanks 1

Ya i also like that scope but for what it's made for.

It's not a high power scope it has lots false colour on the bright stuff including the moon and planets but it wasn't made for that.

It's a portable light weight scope  wide wide fov. Great for those large extended milky way objects.