SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Sensor issue or Lens issue?

Hi Guys,

I've been a beginner in astrophotography, I've just taken a few photos and my photos regardless of the lens have a green highlight across the image and somewhat a round circle on the left side and bottom side of the image; is this due to low light shooting?

Im using the A7 iii and the 24mm 1.4 GM, in my backyard in London with a bortle 10 sky.

If someone could give me help I'd greatly appreciate it.

Thank you,

Swiss

DSC01825.jpg

Hi Guys,

I've checked both my lens and my sensor; it has dust around the same corners of the issue, it could be that.

And also how do I take flats? Or what does it mean generally speaking?

Thank you so much in advance,

Swiss

There is a green circle that goes all the way round the image (or my eyes are playing up :o ) It intersects with the "blob" you have highlighted.

I reckon the circle is a reflection, although the blobb looks like a grease smudge or some such. The question is: where? Generally the larger these things look, the further away from the sensor they are.

Yeah you're right, but the question is; is it the illumination of the dust speckles or some sort of vignetting.

Because if I take normal photos indoor or outdoors none of the issues arise, its just when I take astrophotography shots?

Perhaps its the heavy light pollution since I am in London?

Hi

1- I would make a lens shiled. I made mine from flocking a flower pot and it's held on the lens with a rubber band. 

2- a rocket blower is a good way to blow off dust bunnies on either lens or sensor. Do not use those air cans they are anything but air.