Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

First time M16

This is my first time photographing the M16.

Equipment:

Skywatcher 130PDS

Canon 700D full-spectrum mod

Optolong L-Pro 2" filter

Image details:

119 subs @ 60 sec  ISO 1600

Data was collected over two nights.

I applied flats & darks and processed it in Photoshop and Pixinsight.

I provided two versions, in one I get  some weird grey haze.

Any tips appreciated :)

spacer.png

spacer.png

Edited by oyabuns
  • Like 12

Yep! well done, top one looks better maybe give it another process and see,  do you use DSS and maybe do a kappa clip to sort out the star shapes maybe? but even a dark sky has some patches of light and dark so not the end of the world but nice to see the image keep it up. ton

22 minutes ago, ebdons said:

Yep! well done, top one looks better maybe give it another process and see,  do you use DSS and maybe do a kappa clip to sort out the star shapes maybe? but even a dark sky has some patches of light and dark so not the end of the world but nice to see the image keep it up. ton

Hi Ebdons,

Yes, I have used DSS and kappa clipping for this. How else could I improve the shape of stars?

That's a very good image with really good detail (much better than I have ever achieved). It's not a big deal but the trailing stars towards the right hand side of the image looks to be due to polar alignment not being accurate as the trails rotate about a point. An earlier post by yourself shows you asked how to best use a polar scope, though without response. I can't help there as I use Sharpcap for polar alignment (very good), but you could try searching the forum (no doubt has been asked numerous times before) or posting again.

Great work.

6 minutes ago, bobro said: