SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Kutter binoculars 120/f31

Chriske

f/31, so planetary and Moon observations only.
Busy grinding the optics.
And at the same time designing the telescope itself.
This is V1. The light leaving the secondary tube passes through the primary tube at an angle of 11.30°
The yellow transparent cone is to guide me where I need to cut that oblong hole in the secondary tube.
The focuser is a new design that has never been done before. It goes up the small upper tube. I'm not planning using 2" eyepieces at all in this scope.

image.thumb.png.beb356652584736da9b065ca1eda5d5f.png

Edited by Chriske
Change of concept
  • Like 7

Also following with interest. I've had some experience with a 6" Yolo version. These TCT's (Tilted Component Telescopes) do have excellent false colour free, high contrast images. Like folded refractors they can be a challenge to collimate initially.   ?

• Haha 1

Optics well done en tuned these Kutters are superb telescopes.
In our local observatory there use to be a 10" version. Focal length 5 meter.  Moon at primary focus fitted just on the negatives of my 6x6 camera.
It was a 'real' Kutter. To correct residual coma and astig there was a correcting lens installed tilted about 20°. Focal plane is tilted about 7°.
As you can see in the drawing, Focal plane of my 120mm kutter is tilted almost 4°, also to correct residual errors. But not all is corrected(there's no correcting lens in mine) But all ray's stay well within the Airydisk, no problem there.

Another one one my wish-list is a Gregorian. Two concave mirrors, one is a parabola and the secondary is an ellipse.

Gregorian 150/f25
image.png.f275014b8d45ee0a264b1cff3a34fa87.png

Compared to a (very long)Newt of the same size F=2000mm
image.png.d2cdaf5e958142d1af0906c931811f83.png

17 minutes ago, Peter Drew said: